Piaranthus was introduced by Robert Brown (1810) who described Piaranthus (Stapelia) punctata, although the combined name of Piaranthus punctatus was first published by Schultes (1820). The genus has included as many as 16 species but currently comprises 7 species of small-stemmed mat-forming plants from South Africa and Namibia. In habitat, they are typically found under protective non-succulent shrubs on sandy acidic soils. Most species occupy a range of 500 - 1000 m above sea level and receive 10 - 25 cm annual precipitation, much of it during the winter months.


Brachystelma Caralluma Ceropegia Edithcolea Hoodia Huernia Orbea


QuaQua Stapelia Tridentea

Return to Main Page